Zero Lives Left – Serious Sam 3: BFE

Game: Serious Sam 3: BFE
Released: 2011
Available On: Mac (Review), PC, Linux, Xbox 360, PS3 (TBA)
Genre: First Person Shooter

There comes a time in life when you just need to shoot something in the face. For most normal people this usually involves going out on a hunting trip and shooting a poor defenceless deer. For me, I pick up a controller or sit at my computer and load up a video game. Normally the games that fill the ‘shooting something in the face’ void are classics like Doom or Duke Nukem 64. Doom especially because shooting a Pinky demon with a shotgun and making him collapse into a heap of organic alien goo feels so damn good. I haven’t found a game that replaced fun, challenging and chaotic rush of Doom; nothing matched it. One innocent Saturday I received a 75% off gift code for Serious Sam 3 from Steam when I completed a Binding of Isaac badge. I couldn’t resist a 30 dollar deal, so I bought the game immediately. I booted it up, picked up the first melee weapon in the game (a sledgehammer) and beat an alien to death with it. From then on– I was hooked.

The story to a game like this isn’t exactly hard and fast. You are a badass dude who is the only one capable of stopping a bunch of aliens from taking control of Earth (although they are quite close). The game takes place in Egypt and the environment is absolutely spectacular. Even though you are viewing a lot of samey looking halls, temples and buildings, the desert is one of my favourite locations to explore in. In the distance looms giant pyramids that you slowly make your way to as you pulverize aliens in the process. When you come across the Sphinx, Sam takes it upon himself to blow it up to get inside. Underneath all the pyramids are a bunch of gorgeous looking temples composed entirely of alien technology. As I said, even though you are viewing a lot of samey looking halls, temples and buildings, the game has a really good pace to it that keeps it interesting.

GAMEPLAY

THE WEAPONS — THEY ARE FUN (CANNON)

DUKE NUKEM FOREVER

HOW THIS IS WHAT DUKE NUKEM NEEDED TO BE — FEELS LIKE A CLASSIC SHOOTER

CLOSING

Serious Sam 3: Before the First Encounter: X/10

CLUE

[CLUE PICTURE]

If you crave the feeling of watching mortals suffer follow Justin on Twitter at @KingCauti and like The Ubiquitous Gentlemen on Facebook.

Let us know your thoughts!