Video Game Rage – OUYA?

What is OUYA?

At this point OUYA is merely an idea. A dream thought up to be the ‘newest thing’ of console gaming. Their big thing is that they are going back to what made console gaming good. The experience is the console and they don’t want to rely on gimmicks. Their games are all ‘free to play’ in a sense and that is another one of their big sells. Would it be successful? I’m not really one to say professionally, but it does have many really interesting factors to it all. Join me readers, I’m going to venture into the world of this mysterious new concept that is OUYA.

So we can all be on the same page here is their Kickstarter.

I’m not going to make you read that WHOLE thing, but if you wanted to get to know everything about the console there is no better place to start. I’ll pick and choose a few things from the page (whatever I can use to warp into my thesis the best). It’s an interesting idea and a compelling thought to what gaming needs to become again. But… is it all that it seems?

I am a big console gamer. I always have been and I want to keep gaming as long as I can. I have nothing against computer gaming but I am just drawn to consoles primarily. The feeling of relaxing on the couch with my feet up playing a video game is incomparable. Beating a hard boss and running around my basement screaming in joy is as fulfilling as it sounds– which is very fulfilling to you smart asses out there. Obviously right off the bat OUYA interests me from that. A new home console with a sexy looking controller? Yes please. A focus on indie developers and indie games? Even better. Sure, there are a lot of misses in indie development but the hits are even better than most big releases.

You busted your ass just to find out the princess was “in another castle.” You fought bosses that told you repeatedly how much “you suck.” You taped a blanket to half of your screen so your friend couldn’t see where you were. You traded the best players onto your team just so you could have the perfect season. And you did it all on the TV.

Damn right. The TV is their big thing for this. They want to bring back the feel of old school gaming, you can’t really go wrong with a principle like that. Old school gaming is the memories that most gamers my age founded their gaming on. You’d be hard pressed to find a 23 year old guy who only started playing game when Modern Warfare came out. No, we’ve been gaming since the NES and SNES and we want to game like that again. We want the simple and challenging games with an emphasis on challenge. Games don’t have to be pretty all the time, they can be a simple looking game and incredibly addicting and successful. (See: Minecraft)

It’s time we brought back innovation, experimentation, and creativity to the big screen. Let’s make the games less expensive to make, and less expensive to buy. With all our technological advancements, shouldn’t costs be going down? Gaming could be cheaper!

You got me again OUYA. I agree, gaming should be cheaper. Games are too expensive, so if they are promising cheaper games then that’s just another victory for me. However I can admit that this could all be a huge pipe dream. The reason why games are expensive is because they take a lot of money and man power to make. I mean, have you looked at the crew required to make a new game these days? It’s insane how many heads work on the project. Of course if OUYA is truly following the indie platform then there will be less people making the game so they’ll feel more inclined to sell it for less. They’d probably make more money in the long run selling a game for 10 bucks as opposed to 40.

My biggest personal issue is their ‘free to play’ format. I never mind that format if it’s done through a demo format. On the flip side, their other method the ‘League of Legends’ approach doesn’t interest me as much. I’m not a big fan of the ‘free-to-play, pay-to-win’ format that exists in these type of games. Note: I have never played LoL so don’t come blowing smoke up my ass and getting mad at me for being wrong. I was just using that as an example of the game type that they were using on their site. The F2P, P2W format seems fun at first but when you realize you’ll be spending more money to play this style than a normal game you’ll find a sour taste in your mouth. Now some of you may like that, and more power to you messed up individuals, but I’m a fan of buying my game in a package and ripping through it all as is. I don’t want to pay five dollars in this free game to get better guns; I’d rather unlock them with skill. (Don’t even get me started on disc-locked DLC, I’ll get to that in a future Raging)

Some other problems: currently their console is just a prototype– this means it still remains entirely a pipe dream. That’s probably my biggest doubt with OUYA. Will it actually work? I mean it sounds fricking awesome on paper, but when you pull away all of the bells and whistles you’re really just left with an idea. Sure, there are lots of good ideas that work, but there are also a lot of good ideas that just flopped. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not sitting here in my underwear hoping that the OUYA will fail. If anything I want to see this be a success. It would really add a nice breath of fresh air to modern console gaming. It’d never give the big three a run for their money, but I’d buy it if it was cheap. If I bought it and it wasn’t good? I’d have a nice conversation piece in my living room. If it interests me and the price tag isn’t OUTRAGEOUS, I’d buy it — without question.

Another factor weighing it down is the game selection. Will we see good games on it or will we see a bunch of ‘cellphone games’ on it? The game selection will hold back any system. It’s why you don’t hear people talk about the N-Gage anymore. Even a console with some good games, i.e.: The Dreamcast, can go under just because of sales. Will OUYA be able to hold its head up? Yes it has Minecraft and Final Fantasy III coming for it. I own Minecraft and most others have it for PC, Mac or the Xbox 360– most sane people wouldn’t buy it again just to support the OUYA. Final Fantasy III on the other hand is an old game; it’s a port, that’s nothing too impressive. Name recognition can only get you so far. I want to see some new games in the releases and THEN I’ll start to get excited.

In the end I want this console to succeed. I feel like it deserves it. It’s made A LOT of money on its Kickstarter and I believe that has to be because of gamers just getting legitimately excited about something. The big three have been focusing on gimmicks for far too long and turning their consoles into ‘multimedia devices’, with OUYA stepping up and saying “Hey! We can still make games” that’s bound to turn a few heads. I’ll be watching OUYA closely in the following months, up to its prospected 2013 release and I’ll be holding my breath in the hope it’ll be something great. If not? At least we tried — that’s more than big developers can say; growing a god damn backbone, will you?

OUYA!

Let us know your thoughts!

