Before They Were Cool – Camp

 

Band: Childish Gambino
Album: Camp
Label: Glassnote Records
Released: November 15, 2011
Genre: Hip Hop

“Okay it’s Childish Gambino, homegirl drop it like the NASDAQ.”

I figured I would just sit back for the long weekend, take ‘er easy and let his own lyrics do the introducing. However, there is more to say. Childish Gambino is the stage name of Donald Glover – a man who first gained popularity through Derrick Comedy and is now hitting major success with is role as Troy on the television show Community. Furthermore, I quite like Donald Glover, as I find him quite a role model being listed in the most recent ranking of Forbes top 30 under 30. He is a multi-talented; acting, writing, music, dj-ing, overall he is incredible. However, we all know what you’re here for – the music. So Childish Gambino let’s see if you really can drop it like the Nasdaq.

Ah shit! There goes the NASDAQ

Honestly I don’t have much to say about this album. That is neither a good thing or a bad thing. Quite simply it is because I am not a fan of hip hop. This puts me in a tight spot, because I could be incredibly bias and rip on this album, but then I realized I can’t – because it is pretty damn good. I just can’t really say much because  I am reviewing a hip hop album and I don’t really know what to say about it.

I am just gonna get straight to it now. Musically I didn’t find anything too special and that is why I don’t really lean towards hip hop as a genre of choice. The album is mixed well, some of the beats are simple and I like some of the guest vocals throughout the album. Everything blended in nicely, just nothing was mind-blowing musically. Except this one part, but I will get back to that later. In any case I don’t really think the musical part is what hip hop is about. It is all about the lyrics. That’s why I love this album.

Donald Glo- oh umm…..Childish Gambino (sorry almost blew you’re secret identity) does great job with his lyrics. Some of it is funny in it’s own way and some of it feels incredibly real and passionate and I just really like his voice. Stylistically it sounds very similar to Kanye West.  Honestly even if you don’t like hip hop and really don’t want to listen to the album take 10-15 minutes to read the lyrics on this album. Maybe I feel like parts of it are easy to relate to. Seriously. I am going to tell something I wouldn’t normally tell you. Stop reading this and go read the damn lyrics.

Bitches, read the lyrics

Now like I said I don’t have much to say. So here is the last little bit. The one part of this album that kind of caught me off guard in a good way. The last track on the album “That Power” eventually leads into a spoken word bit. This spoke word was incredible. It contained excellent jazzy music backing – this being the musical part that was amazing, just listen to the bass playing, it’s incredible. Apart from that the spoken word is simply put – beautiful. It painted such a perfect picture in your mind. Everything about it felt real, far more real than most music out there.  It was cute, and honest and at the end you are just left looking back at the album going damn, I liked that.

Before I mentioned I do not have much taste for hip hop, so when I say that even if you don’t really like the genre you should go listen to this album. I will leave it at that. Short, sweet – listen to it.

Overall: 8/10

Let us know your thoughts!

