Readers Indigestion – Redshirts Part 1: The Rundown

This probably looks really bad. Here I am, haven’t wrote about a book I’ve been reading in weeks, yet now I’m starting a fourth book. There are three things I’d like to say in my defense to all of you out there:

1. I’ve been dyeing to read this book for ages.

2. It’s super-short and so far I’m zooming right through it.

3. I really don’t care what your opinion is, it’s my blog.

So without further adue I give you Redshirts by John Scalzi.

John Scalzi is the author of many well received novels, I have not read any of them before now but I do plan on it in the very near future; one that I’ve heard a lot about is Old Man’s War which I intend on finding. Other works by him include: The Ghost Brigades, The Android’s Dream, and Fuzzy Nation to name a few. Not only does he write fiction and non-fiction novels but he has been the creative consultant on one of my favourite television franchises: Stargate. He is a geek and a fan of scifi, as should be very obvious, and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into this book with you.

Have you ever wondered what went on behind the scenes on the Starship Enterprise? Ever been curious as to why the Ensign’s seem so stupid and die from doing generally idiotic things on away missions? If not we aren’t friends anymore, especially if you a) don’t like Star Trek or b) have no clue what I’m talking about. Go away. Still here? Well then, onward! Maybe all of this is a conspiracy, maybe something deeper is going on, or maybe it’s just inevitable.

From the cover:

“Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to the Universal Union Capital Ship Intrepid, flagship of the Universal Union since the year 2456. It’s a prestige positing, and Andrew is even more thrilled to be assigned to the ship’s xenobiology laboratory, with the chance to serve on “Away Missions” alongside the starship’s famous senior officers.

“Life couldn’t be better…until Andrew begins to realize that (1) every Away Mission involves some kind of lethal confrontation with alien forces, (2) the ship’s captain, its chief science officer, and the handsome Lieutenant Kerensky always survive these confrontations, and (3) sadly, at least one low-ranked crew member is invariably killed.

“Unsurprisingly, the savvier members belowdecks avoid Away Missions at all costs. Then Andrew stumbles on information that completely transforms his and his colleagues’ understanding of what the starship Intrepid really is…and offers them a crazy, high-risk chance to save their own lives.”

Redshirts is going to take us into the inner workings of the flagship Intrepid and hopefully we will figure out what on…well IN space is going on during these away missions.

In his blog a few months back Pat Rothfuss said that he had a chance to read Redshirts and contribute this for the back cover:

“I can honestly say I can’t think of another book that ever made me laugh this much. Ever.”

Redshirts has been advertised as Redshirts: A Book With Three Coda’s, these Coda’s are at the end of the novel in about the last third of the book. I’m not really sure what that means in this case, and am kind of confused, but I guess when I get to them everything should be clearer. That being said, my halfway point for this book will be at the end of the main story and then I’ll come back to talk about the Coda’s. Yes, I know I should be done Kevin Smith’s book by now, but I’ll get to it eventually, for now enjoy Redshirts with me.

 Oh, also next week check out Readers Indigestion for a new format. I’ll still be doing book reviews but in between Indigestion will have a book club type feel to it, I’ll sit down with you, the reader, and talk about what’s happening in the book up until this point and any predictions I may have for the book. I hope you all enjoy it and I want to thank everyone for their continued support.

Have a week!

Like The Ubiquitous Gentlemen on Facebook.

Follow Nathan on Twitter @Nait93.

Let us know your thoughts!

