Channel Surfers – World Wrestling Entertainment Part 2: Why I Love the WWE

Yesterday I put out a post talking about the history of the WWE, originally my intention for that post was just for it to talk about why I enjoy watching WWE but me talking about its rich history took a lot more space then I thought it would. Today I’m actually going to get to the original reason of this post, so without further adue: Why do I love the WWE? Let’s find out.

If you haven’t figured this out yet or just don’t know anything about the world of sports entertainment, it is all scripted. You’ll get the occasional instance of something unexpected or that didn’t go the way it was “supposed” to such as a shoot that CM Punk did a year and a bit ago, check it out HERE. Wrestling has hero’s, called a Face character, and it has it’s villains, called Heel characters, the scripts are based around them and they create rivalries and story lines that make things interesting and makes the fighting mean something. This is where most people’s dislike for the sport comes from, the fact that it’s “fake”. I mean, yes everything, well most things, have been predetermined before the show goes live. Wrestlers will show up, go through the script, get some practice in and then perform for millions. So yes, the plot (yeah, there is a plot in wrestling) is staged, but most of the fighting, I can comfortably say in the ball park of 80%, if not more, is real. The hits to the chest,most of the kicks, the chair shots, throwing your body through a table, getting hit with kendo sticks and ladders and far more than that actually happens to these superstars. Their lives and bodies are at risk with every movie they do. John Cena for example has ripped the muscle that attaches his arm to his peck before, that injury put him out for months, and I can’t even imagine the pain he felt during that.

So now, after a post and a half we can finally get to my main point which is why I enjoy watching wrestling. Well there’s really no short answer to this, as you can probably tell at this point, but I’ve narrowed it down to three points that I think can describe it pretty well.

1) I enjoy the plot that goes along with the fights. To me this is an aspect that I like and is probably why I enjoy wrestling more than UFC. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of UFC, I like going out with the guys and watching UFC at someones house or at the bar, it’s a lot of fun, but wrestling is my number one choice. The plot gives purpose to the fighting, it builds up rivalries and can lead to some of the most memorable fights in the history of the WWE, such as Bret Hart vs Shawn Michales in Montreal, now known as the Montreal Screwjob. The plot makes things interesting.

2) I like the characters that are created. In wrestling some of the most interesting characters have been created. You get some of the most dynamic characters I’ve ever gotten to see exist because of the excellent creative team that is behind the sport. The WWE has given us everyone from Andre the Giant to Hulk Hogan, Shawn Michaels to The Rock, Brock Lesnar to CM Punk. Most everyone knows who Hulk Hogan is for one reason or another, The Rock has been pumping out movies nonstop for the last few years and has occasionally makes returns to the WWE to have some great moments and Brock Lesnar went to UFC after a few years in the WWE and dominated over there for a while, he has now come back to WWE, to some rather lackluster bits, but he’s back none the less. These people are relevant outside the wrestling world and that’s just a list of very few WWE Superstars.

3) The fighting and mic work is great and the energy given off during these matches is incredible. In any given match you are going to get 3 great things, first when the superstar comes out you are going to get a great pop from the audience, usually, which just sets the tone for the rest of the match and sometimes the whole episode, second, you are going to get a great fight especially when you see, to use a current example, a CM Punk vs Daniel Bryan match. Matches like that are good for many reasons, they are fast moving and they are incredibly technical, unless you watch these matches it’s hard to describe what I mean, go check one out and I you’ll see the work that goes into these matches. The third thing you’re going to get from a proper match is great mic work, by this I mean things like the video of Punk that I posted at the top of the post. When a superstar that knows what they are doing on the mic gets a hold of one you’re in for a treat, Punk’s pipebombs and Cena’s jokes and lightheartedness are two great examples of solid mic work.

I’m going to go back to talk about the energy briefly. When you watch an episode of WWE on television you get a sense of that energy that is everywhere in the stadiums they perform in. Last year I got a chance to go to a live showing of Monday Night RAW, I was excited to be there and I could tell everyone around me was too and then the show started and the first thing you hear is the opening of Cult of Personality, CM Punk’s theme (oh yeah, wrestlers have theme’s that they walk out to as well) Rexall Place blew up, everyone was cheering as Punk walked out on to the stage with his WWE Championship belt and the energy was ridiculous, I’ve never felt anything like it. It also helps that CM Punk is my favourite Superstar.

I hope that these three points gave a bit of insight as to why I and so many, many others enjoy wrestling so much. I could go on forever about WWE and my passion for it but this has already spawned into two posts. I hope you’ll give it a chance and enjoy the experience, if you do watch it, it will take a couple of weeks to get the story lines straight, but after that its smooth sailing. If not, then maybe you’ll give wrestling fans less of a hard time. And if you still insist on bothering fans, you’re a troll and I don’t like you.

Like The Ubiquitous Gentlemen on Facebook.

Follow Nathan on Twitter @Nait93.

Let us know your thoughts!

